ACM 2023

Annual Community Meeting was held June 29.

We reported on the last fiscal year, 2022/23.


We heard reports from ED Patty Mainville, outgoing Board President, Brenda Hasiuk, and outgoing Foundation Chair, Jane Quinton.

“The children and youth are our teachers, they help direct what is needed at Rossbrook House.  Sometimes we just need to ‘open up our eyes and listen’. ” | Patty Mainville

Thank you

Thank you to retiring Board member Scot Halley and Foundation Board members Ron Bailey, Steve Chipman, and Jane Quinton for the many years of volunteering and all that you have contributed to Rossbrook House and the Foundation!

Scot has been on the Rossbrook House Board since 2014 and has also been a part of the Finance Committee. He is Deputy Chief with the Winnipeg Police Service. Scot says: “So many children just need a place to go and be kids. And that place is Rossbrook House.” We’re grateful for all that Scot has done for the children and youth of Rossbrook House.

Ron has served in multiple positions over 17 years with the Foundation including, Secretary and Chair. In addition to serving on the Foundation’s three standing committees, he has also volunteered with various fundraising events and has worked to grow the Foundation’s Legacy Circle program. Ron also served on the Rossbrook House Board of Directors. We are grateful for the MANY years he has dedicated to Rossbrook House and the Foundation.

Steve joined the Board in 2019, and has served on the Foundation’s Fund Development Committee. We are grateful for his time and expertise over the years, especially with respect to increasing support of & advocacy for Rossbrook House.

Jane joined the Foundation Board in 2016 and immediately immersed herself in all things Rossbrook House. She shared why Rossbrook House means so much to her in many interviews to help promote Rossbrook House or an event. She served on the Foundation Board as Treasurer, as Chair, and on countless committees! We thank her for her kindness and enthusiasm! And we will miss her smiling face!


“The dynamic partnership between our volunteers and staff remains key to our success. Winnipeg is blessed with so many amazing people willing to donate their time and talent!” | Brenda Hasiuk


Congratulations to participants who received special awards:  Emily Batangan who received the Sister Gerry MacNamara award and Drayton Perreault who received the Andy Rupert award. Thank you to PlayAll Trophies for providing these plaques!

These awards are voted on by the staff.

The Andy Rupert Memorial Award honours the passion for play and the spirit of participation that Andy brought to Rossbrook House.  This year’s recipient is Drayton Perreault. He has been a participant since he was 7 years old. We have watched him grow from a friendly and smiling young boy to a friendly and smiling teenager.

In addition to being kind and helpful, Drayton is a great athlete. He is devoted to hockey and becoming an even better player. He plays for the St James Canucks U15, A1 team. He also plays ball hockey and basketball and does ice hockey training camps in the summer. And because of his passion for sports, Drayton is this year’s recipient of the Andy Rupert award.

The Sister Gerry MacNamara Award is presented to someone whose hopes, dreams, and works continue to build Rossbrook House. The award is presented each year to a Rossbrook House participant. This year’s recipient is Emily Batangan.

She is a student at Rising Sun high school and has been a Rossbrook House participant since she was very young. And she became a Junior Staff last year, following in the footsteps of her older sisters. Emily herself says that basically her whole family grew up at Rossbrook House.

We’re proud that hard-working and caring young people like Emily are not only a part of Rossbrook House but are leaders for the younger participants. Congratulations Emily. You are this year’s recipient of the Sister MacNamara Award.


“The Foundation is committed to supporting the many activities and programs that make Rossbrook House so special and that includes all the summer fun ahead.” | Jane Quinton

New Volunteer Award

We also presented long-time volunteer Leslie Galloway with the first-ever Leslie Galloway Volunteer Award. This award was created to pay tribute to Leslie for all that she has done for the children and youth of Rossbrook House, since 1976, and is made possible by the Millican Family.

Leslie has held various positions in her 40-year career with the WHRA Child Health program. She also volunteers at Immaculate Conception Drop-in Centre, Agape Table, and the House of Peace.

She has been the president of the Rossbrook House Board of Directors. She cd the community development committee. She was on the committee for all three No Child Alone Dinners. Today she is still contributing ideas and helping us to make the right decisions for the children and youth of Rossbrook House. She is on both the Rossbrook House board and the Foundation board. She also sits on the Program and Operations Committee.

Leslie has been a part of the Young Mom’s Christmas parties for many years and has seen some of these young moms and their children grow up. She also volunteered her time at the Teddy Bear’s Picnic that was held here for many years. These events were so important to Rossbrook House because we filled this space with doctors and nurses with the hopes of making a future medical trip less scary for the children.

Leslie happily hands out scholarship awards to the students each year at our Open House and has made a personal connection with many. She is enthusiastic and energetic and she cares deeply about the children and youth in our community.

Leslie said this when asked what Rossbrook House means to her:

“Rossbrook House is important to me because I want young people to have opportunities and be supported to participate in educational programs.”

We are grateful to Leslie for sharing her wisdom, and her knowledge of the history of Rossbrook House with the board and staff…And we’re grateful to have her be a part of the Rossbrook House community.


You can read the annual report by clicking here.

You can read the Foundation’s community report by clicking here.